Skip to main content

Genetics: Getting Started

BIOL 3600

Genetics

Genetics
BIOL 3600
Fall 2020

Review of principles of Mendelian and quantitative inheritance considered at a morphological and molecular level, including a survey of population genetics, theories of natural selection, the study of amino acids, and nucleotide substitutions as "evolutionary clocks".

Genetics - BIOL 3600

  1. Explain the fundamentals of transmission genetics.
  2. Describe the composition of genetic material, the structure of genes, mutational events, the genetic code, and protein synthesis.
  3. Describe the mechanisms regulating gene expression.
  4. Describe the basics and applications of recombinant DNA technology.
  5. Demonstrate the ability to use molecular databases, sequence analysis programs, and other bioinformatics tools.
  6. Describe the basic principles of molecular evolution and population genetics.
  7. Apply the principles outlined above to a broad range of biological fields including medicine, agriculture, environmental sciences, and forensics.

Quick Search

Find Books, Journals, Media:


E-Books | Advanced Search My Library Account ILL - Interlibrary Loan | 

     Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Advanced Search | DOI Tools

If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic

View Databases by Subject OR All Databases  

 
 
 

 Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:

Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!

If you see an embargo and a date within a NSUWorks record: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions, author requests, or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

 Find Select Scholarly Articles via Google Scholar: