Skip to main content

Discrete Mathematics: Getting Started

CSIS 2050

Discrete Mathematics

Discrete Mathematics
CSIS 2050
Winter 2019

An introduction to the concepts and techniques of discrete mathematical structures that are used in the theory and application of computer science and computer information systems. Topics covered include set theory, relations, functions, proof techniques, predicate logic, combinational and sequential logic and circuitry, recurrence relations, boolean algebra, graph theory, trees, and discrete probability.

Discrete Mathematics - CSIS 2050

No textbook is currently required for this course.

  1. Perform the operations associated with sets, functions, and relations and relate practical examples to the appropriate set, function, or relation model, and interpret the associated.
  2. Model real-life situations with combinational and sequential logic and circuitry including, select the type of proofs and use formal logic proofs to provide rigorous reasoning to real situations, and solve problems including those arising in computing contexts such as program correctness, database queries, and algorithms including recursion.
  3. Model problems in computer science using graphs and trees, demonstrate understanding of traversal, and relate graphs and trees to data structures, algorithms, and counting.
  4. Compute permutations, combinations, and discrete probabilities.
  5. Determine the time and space complexity of algorithms.
  6. Model discrete probability problems, understand events and conditional probability, apply binomial theorem to independent events and solve problems using Bayes theorem.

Quick Search

Find Books, Journals, Media:


E-Books | Advanced Search My Library Account ILL - Interlibrary Loan | 

     Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Advanced Search | DOI Tools

If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic

View Databases by Subject OR All Databases  

 
 
 

 Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:

Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!

If you see an embargo and a date within a NSUWorks record: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions, author requests, or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

 Find Select Scholarly Articles via Google Scholar: