Skip to main content

BMME 8053 Introduction to Bioinformatics: Getting Started

The primary goal of this course is to introduce the student to the field of bioinformatics and the skills needed to manipulate datasets from biological studies. Computer exercises will include working in the UNIX/LINUX environment, interpretation of DNA

Introduction to Bioinformatics

Introduction to Bioinformatics
BMME 8053
Fall 2020

The primary goal of this course is to introduce the field of bioinformatics and to familiarize your self with working in the UNIX/LINUX environment, standard DNA sequence analyses, and online database resources. There will be an emphasis on hands on practice and use of computer and online resources through the guidance of the instructor.

Required Textbooks:

  1. The student will need a computer with privileges to install software. Use of an Apple is recommended.If the student has a PC, it will need to have additional software installed. Students with Windows 10 can install a LINUXshell directly. Alternatively, students can use the program, Cygwin, to allow access to a UNIXinterface. Instructions for installing Cygwin and Windows 10 LINUXshell will be provided in the course.
  2. Practical computing for biologists (Haddock, S.H.D., & Dunn C.W. (2011), N0. 57: 004 HAD) - Recommended text
  3. The NCBI Handbook – Available free online at https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK21101/
  4. Weekly reading assignments and instructional videos will provided during the course.

At the conclusion of this course the student will be able to:

  • Use basic computer programming skills to manipulate DNA sequence data.
  • Locate the appropriate online database for acquiring molecular sequence data.
  • Apply the appropriate bioinformatics analyses to address real biological questions.
  • Understand some of the larger questions and issues within bioinformatics.
  • Read and summarize primary literature within the bioinformatics field.

Your First Stop in Oceanography Research

Dive In Research Oceanography

Quick Search

Find Books, Journals, Media:


E-Books | Advanced Search My Library Account ILL - Interlibrary Loan | 

     Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Advanced Search | DOI Tools

If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic

View Databases by Subject OR All Databases  

 
 
 

 Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:

Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!

If you see an embargo and a date within a NSUWorks record: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions, author requests, or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

 Find Select Scholarly Articles via Google Scholar: