Skip to main content

MSMS 6005, BIOL 3300 Invertebrate Zoology: Getting Started

Basic invertebrate zoology including introductory anatomy, physiology, phylogeny, and ecology of major animal phyla from protozoa through echinoderms with emphasis on marine organisms. Includes laboratory sessions.

Invertebrate Zoology

Invertebrate Zoology
MSMS 6005, BIOL 3300
Fall 2020

Basic invertebrate zoology including introductory anatomy, physiology, phylogeny, and ecology of major animal phyla from protozoa through echinoderms with emphasis on marine organisms.

Required Textbooks:

  • Explain and be able to use basic taxonomic and phylogenetic theory and practice, including application of homology, monophyly and parsimony in reconstructing evolutionary hypotheses
  • Describe the anatomy, classification, ecology, physiology and life histories of major groups and subgroups if invertebrates, including animal-like "protozoans​"
  • Explain the primary hypotheses associated with major structural advances in the animal kingdom, including multicellularity, germ layer differentiation, and development of body cavities
  • Identify from preserved and living material the major groups and subgroups of invertebrates, including representatives at familial, generic and specific levels, particularly of forms found in South Florida, as well as important life history stages, distributions and functional adaptations to specific environments
  • Use and be able to discuss primary literature sources (e.g., peer-reviewed journal publications) on marine invertebrates.

Your First Stop in Oceanography Research

Dive In Research Oceanography

Quick Search

Find Books, Journals, Media:


E-Books | Advanced Search My Library Account ILL - Interlibrary Loan | 

     Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Advanced Search | DOI Tools

If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic

View Databases by Subject OR All Databases  

 
 
 

 Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:

Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!

If you see an embargo and a date within a NSUWorks record: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions, author requests, or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

 Find Select Scholarly Articles via Google Scholar: