Skip to main content

Biology: Getting Started

BIOL 1500, BIOL 1510, BIOL 1510H

Biology

Biology
BIOL 1500, 1510
Summer I 2020

An introduction to the biological sciences for students interested in pursuing a career in this area. Includes subcellular and cellular organization, structures/function, biochemistry, classical/molecular genetics, and population dynamics - all arranged around evolution as a major theme. Includes laboratory sessions.

This course and related labs, the second part of a two-part sequence, introduces the basic principles of biological science at the level of the organism and above. It focuses on a survey of the five kingdoms and compares the structure and function of organ systems in plants and animals. It includes the study of evolution, phylogenetic relationships, species diversity and ecological interactions.

Biology I and II - BIOL 1500 and 1510

  1. Demonstrate an understanding of the chemical foundations and molecular diversity of living organisms and how these components are used to coordinate cellular activities.
  2. Describe the structures and functions of prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells.
  3. Explain the complex metabolic pathways involved in energy acquisition and utilization, as well as, coordination of cellular activities.
  4. Demonstrate a familiarity with the mechanisms of inheritance, genetic disorders, gene expression, as well as, the use of and recent developments in biotechnology.
  5. Produce scholarly laboratory reports, which demonstrate an understanding of the scientific method and basic statistical analyses, as well as, the ability to read and interpret data.
  6. Demonstrate knowledge of ethical, historical, and contemporary issues related to life science at the cellular and molecular levels.
  1. Explain how scientists have contributed to our understanding of biology through history.
  2. Explain the mechanisms of evolution and natural selection.
  3. Describe how speciation can lead to biological diversity.
  4. Describe phylogenetic relationships between organisms.
  5. Describe the various structures and functions of organisms including organ systems.
  6. Explain how ecological interactions connect the diversity of organisms.
  7. Describe the variety of ecosystems and habitats of the ecosphere.
  8. Illustrate the basic structure of representative organisms, from bacteria through chordates.
  9. Produce laboratory reports, which demonstrate an understanding of the scientific method, basic statistical analyses, and the ability to read and interpret data.

Quick Search

Find Books, Journals, Media:


E-Books | Advanced Search My Library Account ILL - Interlibrary Loan | 

     Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Advanced Search | DOI Tools

If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic

View Databases by Subject OR All Databases  

 
 
 

 Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:

Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!

If you see an embargo and a date within a NSUWorks record: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions, author requests, or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

 Find Select Scholarly Articles via Google Scholar: