Skip to main content

MSMS 5010, BCOR 5570 Biostatistics: Getting Started

This guide covers material for Biostatistics I (MSMS 5010 and BCOR 5570).

Biostatistics

Biostatistics
MSMS 5010, BCOR 5570
Fall 2020

This graduate course will introduce the most commonly used statistical tests and procedures to analyze biological and ecological data. The main objective is to prepare the students to identify the most correct statistics to analyze biological data, perform the statistical analysis in R and correctly interpret the results. Lectures will consist of short theoretical presentations followed by a lab where students will do guided exercises in R. Students will be required to do readings prior to the class on the theoretical basis of the theme of the week, and perform unguided exercises (homework) to cement knowledge.

Required Textbooks:

At the conclusion of this course, the student will be able to:

  1. Describe critical aspects of data such as scales of measurement.
  2. Identify if the variables are discrete or continuous.
  3. Calculate summary statistics.
  4. Create appropriate graphs, charts, maps, and tables to represent data.
  5. Determine the appropriateness of various statistical tests and procedures for analyzing different types of biological data.
  6. Analyze biological data using the appropriate statistical test(s) in software R.
  7. Correctly interpret results of statistical analysis.
  8. Write a grammatically perfect, technically informed, well-structured document with regards to data analysis.

Your First Stop in Oceanography Research

Dive In Research Oceanography

Quick Search

Find Books, Journals, Media:


E-Books | Advanced Search My Library Account ILL - Interlibrary Loan | 

     Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Advanced Search | DOI Tools

If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic

View Databases by Subject OR All Databases  

 
 
 

 Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:

Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!

If you see an embargo and a date within a NSUWorks record: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions, author requests, or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

 Find Select Scholarly Articles via Google Scholar: