The world of business is changing rapidly. So, you need intelligent, grounded guidance as you move into your future role as a manager and leader.
Essential Communications Skills for Managers by Walter St. John; Ben HaskellThe purpose of this book is to provide practicing and aspiring managers and students of management a practical and comprehensive reference source for communicating on the job with all people in all situations. This "how-to" book provides readers with the essential knowledge, attitudes, and skills to perform the communicating aspects of their routine and special duties. The information is presented in two volumes and each topic is divided into "Things to Know" and "Things to Do."
Publication Date: 2016-12-31
75 Ways for Managers to Hire, Develop, and Keep Great Employees by Paul FalconePeople power your business--and success can hinge on your hiring, inspiring, and keeping the right ones. As a manager, are you cultivating this vital resource? Is there more you could be doing? Are you just winging it? Every HR executive has a laundry list of things they wish managers knew: best practices that would enable the entire organization to operate more effectively...transforming those managers into exceptional--and highly promotable--leaders. Now in this accessible and practical playbook, HR expert and author Paul Falcone shows readers how to: Identify the best and the brightest talent Hire for organizational compatibility Communicate constructively Address uncomfortable workplace situations Create an environment that motivates Retain restless top performers Reengage your team after a layoff or during times of adversity Skillfully conduct performance reviews Take corrective action Sidestep litigation landmines Delegate in a way that develops your staff And much, much more From recruiting to retaining, 75 Ways for Managers to Hire, Develop, and Keep Great Employees has all the advice you need to overcome your toughest people challenges.
Publication Date: 2016-06-14
Organizational Behavior by Joseph E. ChampouxOrganizational Behavior concisely covers the essential theories and concepts students need to understand about behavior in organizational settings in the twenty-first century. Readers interested in management will find insight into into their own behavior and the behavior of others to help them perform effectively in organizations. Champoux has carefully selected the topics and built them into frameworks useful for explaining, analyzing, and diagnosing organizational processes. Covering both micro and macro perspectives on organizational behavior, the book includes new topics on leadership styles, generational differences, and technology in the workplace as well as plenty of examples to help students understand the application of various concepts and theories. Upper-level students of organizational behavior will find the book a useful explanation of managerial and organizational situations. A companion website, featuring instructor manual, test bank, and PowerPoint slides, provides additional support for students and instructors.
Publication Date: 2016-07-22
Management Motifs: An Interactionist Approach for the Study of Organizational Interchange by Scott Grills, Robert PrusManagement Motifs provides a research agenda for an interactionist approach to the study of management activities. Moving well beyond more organizationally-based understandings of managers and management, it examines the pragmatic accomplishment of management activities and the generic social processes that accompany them. This work addresses diverse issues related to management such as: holding and doing office, pursuing cooperation, developing policy, envisioning and advocating for missions, establishing teams and generating team identities, sustaining team endeavors and managing self. By attending to management-related concerns as a generic feature of human group life, the authors develop and articulate a research framework for the study of managing and management.
Publication Date: 2019
Leadership Insights by Matt BeadleThis book provides young leaders or future high-potentials the guidance needed for how to deal with the challenges of leading teams in modern organizations. Leading ones first team can be a daunting and sometimes overwhelming experience, requiring self-reflection, self-discipline, communication, and organizational skills as well as no small amount of guts and values. This book provides young leaders or future high-potentials the guidance needed for how to deal with the challenges of leading teams in modern organizations. Understanding the power of strengths-based leadership using clear two-way communication and, in particular, identifying with one's own leadership philosophy are central themes in this book. It highlights the typical mistakes made by first-time leaders and offers theoretical and practical advice to deal with the difficulties of management.
Business database with more than 3,840 full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Includes all content from ABI/Inform Archive, Dateline, Global, and Trade & Industry. Click here to browse Commodity Reports, Country Data Reports, SWOT, Market Research, and Industry Reports from EIU and BMI.
Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles, as well as business-oriented newspapers, magazines and even case studies. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is updated daily and is strong in the areas of management, accounting, finance and economics.
Full-text articles from over 200 journals covering human resources, library science, marketing, management, operations, and other related topics. Provides detailed reviews (no full-text) for articles in an additional 300 management journals. Coverage back to Volume 1 Issue 1 for over 120 journals.