Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start Your Research Here!
A great place to start is with Ebsco.
Click [Choose Databases] to add the following additional databases:
I recommed you add the following databases to your search: Biomedical Reference Collection, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessments, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Nursing & Allied Health Collection
Your Instructor may ask you to find the "Impact Factor" of a publication.
You will use the database Journal Citation Reports to find this number.
Journal Citation Reports® offers a systematic & objective way to evaluate journals by using a scientific equation which shows research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.
Finding the full-text of an article is easy!
Use the button within the database. This will open a new window called the Web Bridge where you can obtain the article through one of these methods:
• Full Text Databases (if available) → click on database name, i.e. ScienceDirect or HighWire Press
• NSU Electronic Journal Collections → Search Journal Finder
• Library Catalogs (In-Stock) → Search NovaCat
• InterLibrary Loan/Document Delivery → Order the item through ILLIAD
Note: using the Journal Finder, NovaCat, or ILLIAD may be done independently from the HPD Library Home Page. Look under the column titled QUICK LINKS on the left side of the page.
What's a primary research article and how can I find one?
A primary research journal article is one that reports on the details and results of a research study conducted by the authors themselves. These articles are often have the following sections: Introduction, Methods, Results, and Discussion.
While these articles may start with a brief literature review of previous and similar research, the rest of the article focuses on the authors' original research. For example, the "methods" or "methodology" section describes the participants in the study, the sample size, and the research procedure used.
You can search for primary research articles in a similar way that you search for other peer reviewed articles. From your results list, you can read the abstracts of the articles. If you get hundreds or thousands of results, there are a few different techniques to try to focus your search on primary research articles,
- Original research articles must also be peer reviewed.
- Dissertations are not considered peer reviewed.
- Add the keywords results AND method* (this yields both methods and methodology) to your search along with your other keywords. With both of these techniques, you will still need to examine each article closely to see if it is reporting on the authors' original research and not a synthesis of others' research.
- Filter by Document Type on the Advanced Search page of most databases and choose Case Study (a case study is one type of primary research article).
- All of these results are generally primary research articles, but keep in mind that while all case studies are primary research, not all primary research is in the form of a case study, so you may be missing some primary research articles on your topic by searching this way.
- If you are reading an article that isn't primary research but is peer reviewed and on your topic, chances are the authors will mention research done by others and include some primary research articles in the references section of the article you're reading. You can then search for those articles.
Medline = PubMed
Choose which "interface" or the way you would like to search the contents of Medline.
Each of these interfaces will be searching the same information. Pick the one you prefer:
Keeping Track of what you Find
OTHER Frequently Used COM Databases
Gerontology, aging, geriatrics
Alternative and complementary medicine
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive
Online access to journals of all areas of medical study
Cumulative Index to the Nursing and Allied Health Literature
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Evidence-based full text articles and protocols
European equivalent of MEDLINE specializing in biomedical and pharmaceutical research
Manual Alternative and Natural Therapy Index System
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
provides information on the costs and effects of drugs, treatments and procedures
Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (PEP) Archive provides access to principal psychoanalytic journals and many classic psychoanalytic books
Online access to major psychiatry reference material and journals, including the DSM library
Citations and abstracts to literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines
Sports and sports medicine literature
Web of Science
Science Citation Index Expanded (1975-present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1975-present)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
Do you need a article that we do not own (electronically or in print)?
If so, use Interlibrary Loan!
***ONLY Distance Students can request electronic delivery of documents in the HPD Library Collection (this service is called Document Delivery)
On Campus - Request journal articles not available in the HPD Library
Off Campus - Request journal articles not available electronically from the HPD Library