Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nova southeastern University logo Martin and Gail Press Health Professions Division Library Logo

Osteopathic Medicine: Free Medical Mobile Apps

Recommended resources for Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine College of Osteopathic Medicine students and faculty

Free Mobile Apps

ACP Doctor's Dilemma  (Free) 

Test your medical knowledge with a trivia game based on the popular ACP Doctor's Dilemma™ Competition from ACP's annual Internal Medicine meetings. Doctor's Dilemma is a trivia game to test medical knowledge in several areas such as Allergy, Pregnancy, etc. It is available as an app in iTunes or on the web using your browser.

ADA  Standards  (Free) 

Clinical practice recommendations from the American Diabetes Association.  In order to find this app in the iTunes app store, you must search for it as "Redi-Reader." Includes Standards of Care for Diabetics. 

AHRQ ePSS  (Free)

The Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS) is a quick hands-on tool designed to help primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. Provided by the Department of Health and Human Services.

BMI Calculator   (Free)

The National Heart Blood and Lung Institute's BMI calculator.

CDC Vaccine Schedules   (Free) 

A CDC Vaccine Schedules App for Health Care Providers.

DynaMed Plus (Free)

The clinical reference tool that physicians go to for answers to clinical questions. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis. DynaMed Plus topics are always based on clinical evidence and the content is updated multiple times each day to ensure physicians have the information they need to make decisions at the point of care.

Epocrates (Free)

Drug and disease information and drug interaction checker available for free. Web-based Epocrates interface. Users must register and purchase Epocrates Essentials for the full version.

Epocrates Rx  (Free)

Mobile drug reference app that includes a drug guide, formulary information, a pill ID tool, drug interaction checker and more.

HIV/AIDS Glossary  (Free)

Information on the latest federally approved HIV/AIDS medical practice guidelines, HIV treatment and prevention clinical trials, and other research information for health care providers, researchers, people affected by HIV/AIDS, and the general public. Provided by the Department of Health and Human Services.

HIV/AIDS Treatment Information Service Guidelines (Free)

AIDS patient treatment guidelines that can be read with Acrobat Reader for the PDA from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

MediBabble  (Free)

Medical translation with phrases written and reviewed by physicians and recorded by hospital based interpreters. Includes Spanish, Creole, Russian, Mandarin and Cantonese translations of common conversation for a non-English speaking patient.

Medscape (Free)

A database from WebMD of drug information, disease clinical references, clinical images and procedure videos, drug interaction tool plus CME activities. You must register to use this app.

Micromedex Drug Information  (Free)

Database of unbiased drug info that identifies generic names, black box warnings, adverse effects, interactions, etc. for hundreds of thousands of commercial, pharmaceutical and biological substances.

Obesity Guidelines and Treatment Recommendations  (Free)

Use this resource from the National Heart Blood and Lung Institute to calculate body mass index, assess risk factors for cardiovascular disease, and more.

PubMed for Handhelds  (Free)

A website for searching Medline with the web browser of any mobile device.  No software installation required. PICO Searching, askMEDLINE, Consensus Abstracts, MEDLINE/PUBMED, Disease Associations all directly from the National Library of Medicine.

PubMed on Tap Lite   (Free)

This app enables users to search PubMed, save PDF's, email PDF's, link to Full Text articles and more. Provided by the National Library of Medicine.

PubSearch  (Free)

Fast, efficient application for searching PubMed. Free version only retrieves 10 article citations. Does not include links to full-text

Read by QxMD  (Free)

Makes it easier to stay abreast of the latest articles.  In fact, practitioners can access the full text of millions of articles from PubMed.
REMM Mobile  
(Free)

Radiation Event Medical Management System contains selected sections on how to diagnose & treat during mass casualty radiological/nuclear events, just-in-time, evidence-based, usable information for those without formal radiation medicine expertise and web-based information that is also downloadable in advance. From the US Department of Health and Human Services.

Skyscape Medical Library  (Free)

Decision-making tool that comes loaded with a valuable package of medical resources, including drug information, medical calculators and clinical information on over 850 topics.

 WebMD mobile (Free)

Look up symptoms, treatments, first aid, and basic drug information.

WISER (NLM) (Free)

Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders in hazardous material incidents, freely accessible to all.