Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Databases?
- Collections of journal articles and abstracts
- Access: HPD Students, Faculty, Staff
- See the Library Guide for your group (Nursing, Pharmacy etc.) to see which databases are best for use in your subject area
- Tutorials: select here or here or the database search tips guide
Is my journal Peer-Reviewed?
Peer-reviewed journals are also called:
Urichs Periodical Directory
- Indicates if a journal is peer-reviewed or refereed
- Type full name of journal
Create a Power Search in EBSCOhost or Ovid by searching multiple databases simultaneously.
Exam Preparation Resources
Test, Measurements, Assessment Instruments
Search PubMed for articles
What is PubMed?
PubMed (MEDLINE) is the National Library of Medicine database for medical research.
PubMed has a public website that does not link to HPD Library subscriptions.
Use the NSU PubMed to link to full-text articles using the Find It! button.
Databases with Clinical Information and Procedures
Definitions: Primary Literature, Peer-Review
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Now in its Fifth Edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. - Also Includes 10 video Objective Structured Clinical Examinations, or OSCEs.
Journal Citation Reports
Find Journals with high impact factors in Journal Citation Reports
Find out how many times your article was cited as a reference by other authors:
- Go to Web of Science
- Choose Cited Citation Search
Audio-Digest is a library of podcasts.
- Emergency Medicine
- Family Practice
- General Surgery
- Internal Medicine
Search Cinhal, Medline and MeSH