Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nova southeastern University logo Martin and Gail Press Health Professions Division Library Logo

Osteopathic Medicine: Resources for
Lit Reviews

Recommended resources for Dr. Kiran C. Patel College of Osteopathic Medicine College of Osteopathic Medicine students and faculty

Ebsco

A great place to start is with Ebsco.

Click [Choose Databases] to add the following additional databases:

þ Biomedical Reference Collection

þ CINAHL Plus with Full Text: 

þ Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials

þ Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

þ Cochrane Methodology Register

þDatabase of Abstracts & Reviews

þ Health Technology Assessments

þ MEDLINE

þ NHS Economic Evaluation Database: 

þ Nursing & Allied Health Collection

Academic Search Premier

SportDiscus (sports medicine)

 

*Check the "Apply Related Terms" box to enhance your search

Web of Knowledge

Web of Knowledge - Thomson (Web of Knowledge)
Provides access to Web of Science (Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index), Medline, and Journal Citation Reports

**Enables you to sort your results by Times Cited - Highest to lowest

**Does not have a peer-review/refereed/scholarly article limiter.

Global Health

The definitive international public health database, Global Health is the only specialist
bibliographic, abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health research and
practice.  It *does not have 'peer-review' limiter

Documenting Your Search Strategy

Write a Literature Review

This handout from UNC - Chapel Hill provides several effective strategies for writing the literature review.

  • Include only the most important points from each source -- you want to summarize, not quote from the sources.
  • Include your own conclusions from analyzing, evaluating, and synthesizing what you learned from these articles.
  • Avoid plagiarism in your lit review. Consult this tutorial on Academic Integrity if you need some guidance.

10 Minute Lit Review Video

This is a WONDERFUL concise video that was made by North Carolina State University and I really think it is worthwhile to view it!

Keeping Track of what you Find

Peer Review

  • Peer-reviewed
  • Refereed
  • Scholarly

Journals recognized as scholarly by their academic or medical peers

Identify peer-reviewed journals by searching for the journal title in Ulrich's Periodical Directory.

Tips for Searching

**Use synonyms for your concepts
including both more specific and/or more general terminology can be useful and separate these terms by OR

(EX:) blood OR hemoglobin OR plasma

**Use the wildcard symbol (often the asterisk (*)) to truncate
(EX:) child* will retrieve child, child's, children, children's

**Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase
(EX:) "global warming"

    Use Boolean operators when allowed
    AND – use to combine concepts (when both must be present)
    OR – use for synonyms (when either term could be present)
    Use parentheses to group terms

    Keyword Generating Tool

    Thinking About Your Search Topic

    You might like this tool:

    Lack of search success seems to go wrong in two opposite directions --- many results but not focused on the topic or not many at all.

    Consider:

    • Using synonyms
    • Using broader terms
    • Narrowing the search with appropriate other terms
    • That the defaults of the search interface may not be as you expect; words may be searched as a phrase
    • Looking at the indexing terms of search results that are good matches
    • Using limits