Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nova southeastern University logo Martin and Gail Press Health Professions Division Library Logo

Physical Therapy: Find the Full Text Article from within a Database

Recommended resources for physical therapy students and faculty

Instructions on finding the full text article when searching in a database

<-- Use the arrows to navigate through the slides --> 

Step 1:

If you are searching for articles in a database and you do not see an option to "download PDF" or a PDF icon or "view full text" or "linked full text" then click on the "find it" icon as shown above.

Step 2:

After you click on the "find it" icon, you will see options to access the full text article.

If we have it electronically, you will see one or more links with date ranges letting you know which dates we have access to. Look at the date of the article you need and click on a link that contains that date.

For our example, our article is from 2015 so any of the above links will work.

*If one link does not work, try another.*

*Some links may take you directly to the article. Other links will require you to browse for the article by searching with the article title or searching by year and volume.*

After clicking the "find it" icon:

  • If there are no links available for electronic access.
  • If the the date of the article you need does not fall in the ranges listed.
  • If it is not freely available online after checking a resource like GoogleScholar.

Then you can request the article from interlibrary loan/document delivery (ILL). Click on the "order this item through ILLiad" as shown above. You can also see instructions at "How do I request material from another library"