Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All NSU Databases
List of resources providing dissertations
Tests & Measurements
Informational guide on locating research instruments as well as studies using specific research instruments
Use the databases listed on this page for subject searching.
- These resources allow you to search multiple journals at once for articles on your topic.
- Need help using the databases? Check out our Database Search Tips guide
- If the full-text article is not available right there next to the citation/abstract, use the Find It link to locate it.
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo indexed dating back to 1937.
U.S. National Library of Medicine's biomedical database with over 22 million citations from 1946 to the present.
NSU subscribes to many different MEDLINE search interfaces. If you prefer, you can also search MEDLINE via the OVID
Citations and abstracts to literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. Includes psychological research and its applications.
Other Research Databases
More recommended databases for OT:
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier encompasses the expansive academic disciplines now being offered in colleges and universities. Users accessing this resource will be provided with comprehensive content right at their fingertips, including PDF backfiles to 1975 or further for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,050 titles.
Citations and abstracts on health-related, public policy, social and fiscal issues related to aging. Sources include scholarly and consumer-oriented publications
Full-text database focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Multiple source types
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Bibliography of controlled trials. Includes information from journals, conference proceedings and other sources not included in other databases.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Full-text articles/reviews, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare
Information on pharmacological and biomedical literature from EMBASE (since 1974) and from MEDLINE (since 1966).
The most comprehensive database for literature dealing with education. It contains both journal articles and reports.
Citations and abstracts to medical literature including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, allied health, health care services and administration, biological and physical sciences, etc.
Citations and some abstracts for literature of occupational therapy and related subjects, such as rehabilitation, education, psychiatry or psychology, health care delivery and administration. Items may NOT be ordered via this database. Check NovaCat and the Full-Text Journal Title Search for print and online journals.
PEDro, Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Citations and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews, and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Excellent for students and researchers in nursing, community health sciences, communications disorders and other health-related disciplines. Full text from over 250 leading nursing and allied health journals back to mid-1990's; indexing back to 1980's
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Provides full-text articles from over 490 journals on sports, fitness, sports medicine, and related disciplines.
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Our motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something we aim to deliver for every single search.
As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Web of Science
Provides access to Web of Science (Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index), Medline, and Journal Citation Reports.