Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start Your Research Here!
A great place to start is with Ebsco.
Click [Choose Databases] to add the following additional databases:
I recommed you add the following databases to your search: Biomedical Reference Collection, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessments, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Nursing & Allied Health Collection
Health & Medicine Databases
Gerontology, aging, geriatrics
National Agriculture Library Catalog citations to agricultural literature including food and nutrition
Cumulative Index to the Nursing and Allied Health Literature
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Evidence-based full text articles and protocols
European equivalent of MEDLINE specializing in biomedical and pharmaceutical research
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Online digital library of education research and information
Global Health Library (GHL)
Information and scientific evidence on health, particularly in developing regions
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios and tests)
Health Technology Assessments
Studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions
Searchable online registry of systematic reviews on the effectiveness of public health and health promotion interventions
Healthy People 2010 Information Access Project
Published literature related to the Healthy People 2010 focus areas
HuGE Literature Finder
HuGE Literature Finder is a search engine for finding published literature on genetic associations and other human genome epidemiology. The search query can include disease/outcome, environmental factors, genes, author's name, affiliation, etc. The results can be further refined by the filtering feature. The list of selected articles can be redirected to the PubMed website to take advantage of the functionality it provides, such as uploading to reference software.
Issues & Controversies - Facts on File
Hot topics in education, environment, family life, human rights, and medicine/health
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Provides information on the costs and effects of drugs, treatments and procedures
Citations and abstracts to literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines
Public Health +
National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (NCCMT) searchable database of critically appraised articles
Gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies
Tests in Print (TIP)
Bibliography of all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language
Web of Science
Science Citation Index Expanded (1975-present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1975-present)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
Keyword Generating Tool
Thinking About Your Search Topic
You might like this tool:
Lack of search success seems to go wrong in two opposite directions --- many results but not focused on the topic or not many at all.
- Using synonyms
- Using broader terms
- Narrowing the search with appropriate other terms
- That the defaults of the search interface may not be as you expect; words may be searched as a phrase
- Looking at the indexing terms of search results that are good matches
- Using limits
The definitive international public health database, Global Health is the only specialist bibliographic, abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health research and practice.
Search by Subject or Format
If you are not sure where to start, or which database you should use, click the link below and
click the SUBJECT you are looking for OR the TYPE or FORMAT of the material.
Public Health Journals
Click on the title then look for the database that has your date range.
Interlibrary Loan / Document Delivery
On Campus - Request journal articles not available in the HPD Library
Off Campus - Request journal articles not available electronically from the HPD Library
10 Minute Literature Review
Performing a Literature Review
Write a Literature Review
This handout from UNC - Chapel Hill provides several effective strategies for writing the literature review.
- Include only the most important points from each source -- you want to summarize, not quote from the sources.
- Include your own conclusions from analyzing, evaluating, and synthesizing what you learned from these articles.
- Avoid plagiarism in your lit review. Consult this tutorial on Academic Integrity if you need some guidance.