Skip to Main Content
Nova southeastern University logo Martin and Gail Press Health Professions Division Library Logo

Anesthesiologist Assistant

Recommended resources for anesthesiologist assistant students and faculty

Search for articles on your topic/question

  • Use the databases listed on this page to begin your search for scholarly articles.
  • These resources allow you to search multiple journals at once for articles on your topic.
  • Need help using the databases? Use the research tips guide or ask a librarian.
  • If the full-text of the article is not available next to the citation/abstract, use the FindIT! button button to locate it.
  • If the database does not provide a limiter/filter option for peer-reviewed articles, use Ulrichsweb to confirm if the journal the article is published in is peer reviewed. Still not sure? Ask a librarian.

Start your research with these recommended databases:

  • MEDLINE (EBSCOHost)
    • This is the National Library of Medicine's article database, containing over 30 million citations from 1946 to present.
    • If you prefer, you can also search MEDLINE via PubMed or Ovid interfaces.

 

  • CINAHL Complete (EBSCOHost)
    • This database covers health science, alternative/complementary medicine, and 17 allied health disciplines and nursing. It contains full text for nearly 770 of the 4,500 journals in this collection, dating back to 1937.

Other recommended article databases:

  • AgeLine: Citations and abstracts on health-related, public policy, social and fiscal issues related to aging. Sources include scholarly and consumer-oriented publications.
  • Alt Health Watch: Full-text database focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Multiple source types.
  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews: Full-text articles/reviews, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
  • EmbaseInformation on pharmacological and biomedical literature from EMBASE (since 1974) and from MEDLINE (since 1966). Includes Medline and other unique title indexing. Includes : EMTREE tool medical terminology thesaurus.
  • ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health: Excellent for students and researchers in nursing, community health sciences, communications disorders and other health-related disciplines. Full text from over 250 leading nursing and allied health journals back to mid-1990s; indexing back to 1980s.
  • APA PsycINFOCitations and abstracts to literature in psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. Includes psychological research and its applications.
  • PubMed: More than 30 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites.
  • SPORTDiscus (EBSCO): Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 490 journals with coverage dating back to 1985.
  • Web of Science: Provides abstracts, cited references, times cited, and links to full text when available for articles in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Tools allow citation tracking, exporting of citations, etc.

 

Click here to browse all NSU databases

If you found an article you want to read but cannot locate the full text, use the citation information and follow the steps below to check the NSU libraries' resources for the article:

  1. In the Full Text Finder, enter the title of the journal the article is published in (not the article title). Click search.
  2. If we have the journal, check the date range (make sure it matches the year your article was published in) and click on the appropriate link.
  3. Once you are in the journal, locate a search box (it's different for every journal) and copy and paste the title of the article and search. 

**If we do not have access to the article, click here to request it from another library through Interlibrary Loan (ILL) department.**

 

Need help? Ask a librarian. We are here to help!