Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nova southeastern University logo Martin and Gail Press Health Professions Division Library Logo

Nursing: Graduate Program Resources

This library guide serves as the Martin and Gail Press Health Professions Division Library portal for the Ron and Kathy Assaf College of Nursing, directing faculty and students to the most helpful library resources and services for their academic program.

Start your research with these databases...

Start with:

Expand your search with: 

Need additional results? 

Verify Peer-Review?

  • Check the journal title in Ulrich's Web. If the journal title (NOT the article title) is peer-reviewed  or refereed, a referee jersey will appear next to the title. 

What's the difference between periodicals, magazines, and journals?

A periodical is a generic term used for popular magazines, trade or professional journals, and scholarly journals. They are materials that are published at regular intervals (monthly, quarterly, daily, etc.).

Magazines are commercial publications intended for a general audience for the purpose of informing and entertaining.

 

 

 

Trade journals also fall between magazines and journals, but their focus includes more product and business information.

 

 

 

Journals are specialized, scholarly publications written by authorities in the field. They usually include bibliographies.

 

 

Writing Help

Need help writing a paper? 

Make an appointment with a writing coach, online or in person at the HPD Library.

NSU Write from the Start Writing and Communication Center

Databases Vs. Google

LIBRARY DATABASES  

GOOGLE

Relevancy

Most relevant returns will rise to the top or any order you specify

Popularity

Google uses it’s PageRank system so the first result is the most popular, not necessarily the most relevant

Sorting

The databases allow you to sort by date, relevance, author, and more.

No Sorting

There is no easy way to sort or limit Google results

Authority

Databases take their articles from the original print sources

Everyone

Google searches all kind of sites, including personal and commercial so you never know if you trust the information

Free

You should not have to pay for articles you retrieve from databases

Pay

Google Scholar may ask you to pay for the content

Professional/Scholarly/Peer Reviewed

Professionally published information – Content is evaluated by publishers for authority and accuracy and licensed for electronic distribution

Personal

Much personally generated content – Anyone can publish anything to the Internet whenever they want

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

You've probably been asked to find peer reviewed articles to use in your research.  Wondering what peer review means and why it's important to scholarship and research?  Check out the video tutorial for more information.

Peer Review

Articles that are published in peer-reviewed or refereed journals are recognized as scholarly contributions to their academic or medical field. You can identify peer-reviewed journals by searching for the journal title in Ulrich's Periodical Directory.