Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nova southeastern University logo Martin and Gail Press Health Professions Division Library Logo

Nursing: Journal Articles

This library guide serves as the Martin and Gail Press Health Professions Division Library portal for the Ron and Kathy Assaf College of Nursing, directing faculty and students to the most helpful library resources and services for their academic program.

Start your research with CINAHL

CINAHL (EBSCO) database = best place to begin your research! 

Then "Choose Databases" to add MEDLINE (PubMed) & other databases to your search (see below).

Choose databases option in CINAHL

Search multiple databases in EBSCO while searching CINAHL :

Choose:

  • AgeLine
  • Biomedical Reference
  • CINAHL Complete
  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
  • MEDLINE
  • Nursing & Allied Health

Search the Full Text Finder for a Specific E-Journal

From the HPD Library Homepage, use the Full-Text Finder to look for a specific journal in our electronic resources. 

  1. Click on “Search Full-Text Finder”
  2. Type in the exact journal title
  3. If you are unsure of the exact title, use the drop-down box and select "Contains" to search for words within a title.

              

Tips
  • Enter the full journal name (NOT the journal title abbreviation)
  • Remember to check the year/issue coverage for the eJournal. (We may have the journal electronically, but not in the year you need)
  • If the journal is not available electronically, you can check our catalog for the print copy on the shelf. 
  • If the journal is not available electronically or in print, you can request specific articles from Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

More recommended databases

For literature reviews:

DOI Digital Object Identifier

Buried Treasure

Use the 'Find Similar Results' or 'View Related Articles' tool when you find a good article to find similar ones.
Some journals print a theme-based issue once or twice per year-see the other articles in the same issue for more information on your topic.
Some journals are perfect for researching your topic. Use the "Search within this publication or journal" option to find more information.
Try researching using your author names. Often authors write more than one article about a specific topic.
Go citation surfing! Look at the reference list for your article, you're bound to find one or two gems.
Use the Major and Minor Subject Heading links in your citation for get a more directed search on your topic.