Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evidence-based web resource
Best Evidence Topic (BET) reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (formerly Cochrane Controlled Trials Register)
Bibliography of controlled trials. Includes information from journals, conference proceedings and other sources not included in other databases.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias.
ConsultGeriRN.org is the evidence-based geriatric clinical nursing website of The Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing, at New York University's College of Nursing.
Geriatric protocols, evidence-based for managing over 30 common geriatric syndromes and conditions.
Linkage to 55 specialty nursing associations’ offerings in geriatric care and to national geriatric web-sites.
The Try This Assessment series with 30 nationally recommended instruments for use with older adults.
Hospital competencies for older adults for use in nurse orientation and evaluation.
Evidence-based resource contains over 1,000 product monographs providing up-to-date clinical information on natural and herbal medicines, and dietary supplements. Cited references are linked to PubMed abstracts when available.
Best Evidence for Nursing Care (McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit ). Citations from over 140 premier clinical journals are pre-rated for quality by research staff, then rated for clinical relevance and interest by at least 3 members of a worldwide panel of practicing nurses.
What is EBM?
Oxford University's Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine states that evidence-based medicine is the conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients.
What is Evidence-Based Nursing?
The practice of nursing in which the nurse makes clinical decisions on the basis of the best available current research evidence, his or her own clinical expertise, and the needs and preferences of the patient.
Source: Mosby's Medical Dictionary, 8th edition. © 2009, Elsevier
Evidence-Based Health Care Resource from the New York University Libraries