EndNote: About EndNote

info question Facebook Twitter user Ask Skip the menu to the main content

What is Endnote?

EndNote is a citation management software application that is free to all NSU students, faculty and staff.  EndNote can be used for creating bibliographies, but is capable of so much more!   You can use EndNote to find, store, and organize references; create bibliographies; share research with colleagues and collaborate online; and even match your research to the best potential journal to publish your research using the new match your manuscript tool.

  • Find it: Search hundreds of online databases and import your existing PDF collection.
  • Store it: Organize and store your research and related notes and files in any way that works for you.
  • Create it: Use Cite While You Write (CWYW), our patented bibliography creation technology, to create and format your reports, manuscripts and proceedings.
  • Share it: Share your research with colleagues and collaborate online.
  • Match it: Sign in to EndNote Online to find the best potential journal to publish your research.

What is citation management software? 

  • Software for recording and utilizing bibliographic citations and references
  • Most commonly used to generate bibliographies
  • Some are free/open access while other are paid/subscription services

Why use Endnote?

  • Import your references directly into Endnote from the library's databases or Google Scholar
  • Keep, track, store, and organize your references in Endnote
  • Find, store, and annotate articles
  • Create bibliographies
  • Insert citations from Endnote into a word document as you write
  • Format your citations and bibliographies using a variety of bibliographic styles
  • Share research with colleagues and collaborate online
  • Match your research to the best potential journal for publication

EndNote Features:

  • EndNote desktop, EndNote for iPad, and EndNote Online
  • Sync with free online, collaborative tool and library: https://www.myendnoteweb.com/
  • Over 6,000+ bibliographic formats available to you (including journal styles!) in desktop version
  • Create bibliographies and citations right within Microsoft Word using Cite While You Write
  • Unlimited storage in EndNote desktop
  • Share your research with up to 14 colleagues or team members from your EndNote Library
  • Advanced PDF importing, file naming, and organizing
  • Annotate PDFs attached to your references

What's new in EndNote X8?

What’s new in EndNote X9:

Check out this short video that highlights updates in the latest version of EndNote:


What’s new in EndNote X8: 

  • Support for the latest operating systems 
    • Compatible with Windows 7 to 10 and Mac OS X 10.10 (Yosemite) to 10.12 (Sierra) 
  • Similar, more intuitive icons on Windows and Macintosh 
    • Quotation Mark = Insert new citation 
    • PDF icon inside magnifying glass = starts find full text search 
  • New Reference Update feature 
    • Update whole sets instead of just individual records 
    • New option to update reference manually 
      • Will disable/grey out the option to update fields automatically so your manual changes are not overridden 
  • Two new tools in the Groups Panel 
    • EndNote sync option now in left-hand library menu if not set up yet (Configure Sync) 
    • Recently added tool allows you to set timeframe of when items were added 
      • Last 24 hours 
      • Last 7 days 
      • Last 14 days 
      • Last 30 days 
  • Improved library sharing 
    • Up to 100 people!  
      • X7 was only 7 people 
      • Use new “find people” search field for sharing 
  • Ability to merge multiple libraries will all the different groups and group sets contained in each 
    • Use the last library you synced as your new library 
  • An Activity Feed for library changes 
    • Great if you are sharing a library 
    • Shows changes in EndNote desktop or iPad, not in Endnote online 
    • Clickable to go to that area 

Helpful Definitions for EndNote

Definitions: 

  • Bibliographic Output Style
    • The style in which your references will be formatted in text and in the reference list
  • Direct Export/manual import/add references manually
    • Adding references to EndNote depends on the source of the citation
  • Import Filters
    • Filters to transfer information previously downloaded from an online database – Especially important for the Indirect Export/Import Function
  • Online Connections
    • The Online Search (Connect) command in EndNote lets you connect directly to online bibliographic databases, search for the references that you need, and retrieve those references without ever leaving EndNote.
    • The online search function uses the Z39.50 internet protocol. Not all databases support the Z39.50 protocol.