Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nova southeastern University logo Martin and Gail Press Health Professions Division Library Logo

HPD Alumni

The Elusive Full Text Article

Clinicians and researchers are frustrated when they can't get full text articles. Unfortunately, most publishers' license agreements contain narrow definitions of "authorized users" that exclude alumni. Like other libraries, the NSU HPD Library must restrict access to much of our licensed content to current students, faculty, and employees.

The good news is that there is a large and growing body of high quality "open access" literature. Open access is precisely that: access is open to everyone without subscription fees or licensing.

This page identifies sources for high-quality full text. Take a look at the Top Clinical Titles - they are among the most highly cited and open access.

Top Clinical Titles

The Free Medical Journals site links to many core clinical titles. Many offer automatic table-of-content e-mail alerts. Caveat: not all content is free and some sites require registration.

Circulation
Pediatrics
Obstetrics and Gynecology
Annals of Internal Medicine

Finding Full Text Articles

Searching for information on a particular topic? It is more efficient to search PubMed than attempt to search numerous free full-text journal sites.  Use the option of limiting your search results to "Free Full Text Articles." Before limiting, you may wish to scan the abstracts of restricted articles which can also provide valuable information.

Full Text Journals