When you are searching for articles on a thesis or dissertation topic, you will want to make sure you are in a subject-specific database. These databases are more appropriate for graduate level research than general databases.
Alvin Sherman Library subscribes to a wide variety of databases to support the programs at the university. Check out the list of databases organized by subject area.
Need a refresher on how to efficiently search for articles in databases?
Check out this tutorial. (NOTE: This tutorial illustrates searching in ProQuest Central, a general database, but the skills are transferable to any database.) You can also search LibraryLearn to see if a tutorial on searching a subject-specific database in your discipline is available.
Using FindIt! for Full Text
Don't miss out on relevant resources by limiting your databases searches to full text only!
The library's FindIt! tool links all of the library's databases together to help you get to the full text of an article. If full text isn't available in the database you're searching, you'll see the FindIt! icon; click on it to see what other databases have access to the article. (Video Tutorial)
To help brainstorm ideas for your research you can also look at dissertations on your topic to find articles, theories, methodologies, and recommendations for future research. However, keep in mind that dissertations are not peer reviewed, so while you can use them as examples you will most likely not want to cite them in your own research.
Use the databases below to search for dissertations. The MARPs database contains dissertations from students in the Fischler School of Education while the ProQuest Dissertations & These Database contains dissertations from students around the world.
The reference lists of articles and dissertations can be a great place to look for more sources. Use the library's tools listed below to help you access the full text of the source. If you have any trouble, remember you can always ask a librarian for help.