Skip to main content

Physics: Getting Started

PHYS 2400, PHYS 2500

Physics

Physics
PHYS 2400, 2500
Fall 2020

This course covers the basic principles of kinematics, dynamics, work and energy, momentum, rotational motion, gravitation, oscillatory and wave motion, fluid mechanics, and thermodynamics.
This course covers the basic principles of electrostatics, magnetostatics, DC and AC circuits, electromagnetic waves, optics, and modern physics, in particular, the special theory of relativity, early quantum theory, semiconductor diodes, and transistors.

Physics I - PHYS 2400

No texts currently required for this course.

Physics II - PHYS 2500

  1. Use calculus and the basic concepts of mechanics, such as energy, momentum, force, torque, and wave motion to solve simple mechanical problems.
  2. Use calculus and the basic concepts of fluid mechanics, including pressure, density, and volume flow to solve fluid problems.
  3. Apply calculus and thermodynamic concepts such as heat, internal energy, temperature, thermal conduction, and entropy to thermodynamic problems, especially to problems involving ideal gases.
  1. Calculate, using calculus, electric and magnetic fields, forces, and potentials from a given set of charges or currents.
  2. Use calculus and the basic properties of electromagnetic waves and how they relate to optics to solve related, simple problems.
  3. Use calculus and the basic ideas of optics, such as index of refraction, polarization, and Snell's law to solve simple optical problems.
  4. Solve, using calculus, electric circuit problems for both AC and DC circuits containing batteries, inductors, capacitors, and resistors.
  5. Solve, using calculus, simple problems in special relativity involving energy, momentum, length contraction, time dilation, and velocity composition.
  6. Apply calculus and elementary ideas from quantum mechanics to simple systems such as the hydrogen atom.

Quick Search

Find Books, Journals, Media:


E-Books | Advanced Search My Library Account ILL - Interlibrary Loan | 

     Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Advanced Search | DOI Tools

If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic

View Databases by Subject OR All Databases  

 
 
 

 Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:

Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!

If you see an embargo and a date within a NSUWorks record: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions, author requests, or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

 Find Select Scholarly Articles via Google Scholar: