Skip to main content

Panza Maurer Law Library Return of the Sharks Guide: Library Services

Law Library Resources

Panza Maurer Law Library - Current Operations

The Panza Maurer Law Library is closed until further notice. We continue to provide research and reference services remotely.

Last updated: July 30, 2020

WELCOME BACK SHARKS! 

As you return to school, the NSU Libraries are committed to working with you to protect your health and well-being and our staff. This guide provides a general overview of current guidelines and available services. 

Here's what you need to know:

At this time,

ONLY

NSU Law students, faculty, and staff and NSU Law graduates who are bar takers are permitted into the Panza Maurer Law Library

*A shark ID and a face covering are required to enter the Panza Maurer Law Library*

 

The NSU Libraries are following the University’s guidance to protect the health and well-being of our community while continuing to support teaching, research, and learning. 

The Panza Maurer Law Library's Return of the Sharks operating plan utilizes the safety protocols from the CDC, local and NSU health officials, when appropriate.

The latest University information may be found on the NSU Coronavirus information page.  

For commonly asked questions regarding service adjustments, please see the Panza Maurer Law Library's FAQ.

Access to the Law Library

Access is limited to current NSU Law students, faculty, and staff and NSU Law graduates who are bar takers. An NSU-issued Shark Card ID and face covering will be required for entrance.

Access to the Law Library will be limited to no more than 193 patrons at a time. The number of persons in and out of the Law Library will be capped at 193, regardless of circumstances. Available study areas will be designated by chairs and/or signage.

Student Co-Curricular Office Use 

Access to the offices will be restricted to student members of the journals only. Chairs and furniture have been arranged for social distancing and no additional seating, beyond the posted capacity of the offices, may be moved into the office spaces. A sign will be posted outside of the Nova Law Review and ILSA Journal offices regarding capacity. Even within their respective offices, students must comply with the University Environmental Health and Safety Guidelines, including keeping six feet of social distance and wearing masks. Co-curricular organizations that do not observe the health and safety guidelines may lose their office privileges in the Law Library.

Accessing S2 or L316 for Scheduled In-person Classes

Library staff will have a list of classes held in these rooms, with dates, times, and names for the classes to ensure entry. Students enrolled in classes for that term will receive a colored sticker to affix to their Shark Card. At class time, students must show their Shark card to security personnel upon entry at the designated class time. Students attending classes in S2 or L316 will not count towards total capacity of the Law Library, and may not remain in the Law Library after their class is dismissed, but may reenter if space allows. Law Library personnel will distribute the color-coded stickers during the first-class meeting. Students who are not able to attend the first-class meeting can make an appointment with a law librarian to get the sticker.

Law Library Hours

The Panza Maurer Law Library will be open beginning Monday, August 17, from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., Monday - Sunday.  

The library’s online services remain available to the NSU community. We currently offer 35 hours of live virtual references services. To view available databases for the NSU community, visit Law databases for NSU patrons.

The Panza Maurer Law Library remains closed to the public. We encourage you to continue using our virtual services until we can safely expand our in-person services to the public. Please check back to find out about our future opening plans for the public as we post information.

Panza Maurer Law Library

Reference Services 

Panza Maurer Law Library Virtual Reference Services

Monday - Friday 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Returning Library Materials and Overdue Materials

RETURNING MATERIALS:

You can return your books or materials only at: 

  • The book drops north of the Alvin Sherman Library in the traffic circle.
  • The book drop on the outside entrance wall of the Alvin Sherman Library.
  • The book drop outside of the entrance to the Panza Maurer Law Library if you have been admitted to the law school building in accordance with the NSU Law Fall 2020 COVID-19 Procedure Policy.

Please do not return materials directly to the Circulation Desk.

  • Return materials are not disinfected, as this practice is not currently recommended by the Centers for Disease Control; however, these materials are quarantined for 72 hours before they are returned to the stacks.
  • Please do not clean or sanitize checked-out items as you might damage the material in the process.

OVERDUE MATERIALS:

  • Due dates of overdue materials from the Panza Maurer Law Library have been extended.
  • Overdue fines for Interlibrary Loan materials are being waived until further notice.
  • To renew materials from the Panza Maurer Law Library, please make a request online through NovaCat, by phone, or email.
  • To renew Interlibrary Loan materials that will soon become overdue, please submit a renewal via ILLiad (if possible, if not past due) or send us an email at lawill@nova.edu.
  • For questions about returning materials, overdue materials, and Interlibrary Loan, please contact the Circulation Manager at the Panza Maurer Law Library.

CHECKING OUT MATERIALS:

Staff will be adhering to strict guidelines, wearing face coverings, distancing, and sanitizing their workstation after each patron transaction. The Law Library has limited materials available for checkout.

  • Items from the General Collection and the Johnny C. Burris Collection may be available for checkout.
  • Requests for items that circulate can be made by placing a hold on the item through NovaCat and an email will be sent when the items are ready for pickup. NOTE: Study guides will not be checked out in print, as they are available online for students through the law library's databases in the West Academic Study Aids, Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library, and LexisNexis Digital Library. A law librarian can assist you in accessing the online study guides.
  • Please allow for more time at the Circulation Desk when checking out materials, as we are limited in staff due to distancing guidelines.

SERVICES:

Study Areas

Seating is limited. Available study areas will be designated by chairs and/or signage. Furniture is arranged to encourage physical distancing and may not be moved. You will need to always wear your face covering. 

  • Students may use the open, marked areas of the Law Library for individual study. Students may not study in groups at tables. Study rooms will be closed at all times.
  • Students in the Law Library must maintain required social distance and otherwise comply with University Environmental Health and Safety requirements, including wearing of masks, at all times. Students who do not abide by the health and safety rules of the Law Library will be removed by library staff.
  • NSU is regularly cleaning the Law Library’s study tables and chairs. To provide extra protection, we recommend that you clean your hands before using any study table or chair.
  • Sanitizer stations are available throughout the Law Library.
  • At this time, FOOD is not allowed in the public areas of the Law Library as masks are required at all times.

Study Rooms:

  • Study Rooms: temporarily unavailable
  • Students who have entirely online classes scheduled between in-person classes only may have the opportunity to sign up for private study rooms in which to take that class to ensure on-time attendance in online courses. Students who have this schedule difficulty should contact library services regarding potential accommodations.

Conference/Other Library Spaces

  • Law Library Conference Room: temporarily unavailable
  • Microforms Room: temporarily unavailable
  • L109: temporarily unavailabile
  • First Floor/Third Floor Event Spaces: temporarily unavailable

Circulation Reading Room/Public Computers

Seating is limited in the Circulation Reading Room. The public computer workstations are not available. Furniture is arranged to encourage physical distancing.

  • Scanners: the scanners located behind the Circulation area are limited to one student per station.
  • Student/Study Guide Collection, Florida Bar CLE Collection, Bar Preparation Collection, and Newspapers/Magazines: temporarily unavailable
  • Reserve Collections (Course Reserve, Faculty Reserve): temporarily unavailable
  • Public Computers: temporarily unavailable

Printing Services

What's available: 

  • Student printers and print release stations
  • Cash to card machines
  • Photocopiers

The printer rooms are located on the second and third floors of the law library. The printer rooms are limited to one student at a time. Students will form a line outside of the printer room, following social distancing protocols. Students are not permitted in the printer rooms while staff is performing maintenance. Please follow posted signage outside of the printer rooms and instructions at each machine.

What's NOT available:

  • Microforms readers (Please request that reproductions be made through Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan Department.)

Please note that if your Shark Card is not working, you can contact NSU SharkCard Services located in the Horvitz Building.

Miscellaneous Services

  • Office supplies, headphones, markers, ear plugs, and other items at the Circulation Desk: temporarily unavailable
  • Notary services: temporarily unavailable

Searching the Online Library Collection

Law Library Databases can be accessed:

The NSU Libraries catalog, NovaCat, can be accessed:

The NSU Libraries Shark Search, can be accessed:

Use your SharkLink ID to log in to our online resources:

The NSU Libraries provide online resources, which can be accessed remotely. For a more comprehensive list of the library's research materials that are available remotely, please visit the "Online Resources" Library Guide.

The Panza Maurer Law Library looks forward to providing you with research and instructional support at NSU. If you have any questions, please contact law-pmllrefdesk@nova.edu.

NSU Libraries

Martin and Gail Press Health Professions Division Library

Oceanographic Campus Library

Panza Maurer Law Library

Tampa Bay Regional Campus Library