Skip to main content

ENVS 3000 Environmental Geology: Getting Started

Environmental Geology

Environmental Geology
ENVS 3000
Winter 2020

Environmental geology is an applied science that uses geologic principles to identify, analyze and mitigate problems that occur where humans interact with geologic environments. This course covers basic concepts of physical geology including earth materials, plate tectonics, deformation and mountain building, and earth surface processes. Additional topics may include sustainability, environmental hazards, environmental policy, and transport and fate of environmental contamination. Students will examine environmental problems on a global and local scale.

Required Textbooks:

  1. Identify basic minerals and rock types found in the earth's crust
  2. Demonstrate an understanding of the basics of the surficial processes that shape the earth¿s surface and result in hazards such as landslides, sinkholes, and erosion
  3. Demonstrate an understanding of the internal earth processes that produce geologic hazards such as earthquakes and volcanoes
  4. Read and interpret topographical and geological maps
  5. Identify and describe basic soil types
  6. Describe the role of environmental regulations in pollution prevention and control
  7. Formulate questions regarding environmental issues in their locality using geologic processes/principles

Your First Stop in Oceanography Research

Dive In Research Oceanography

Quick Search

Find Books, Journals, Media:


E-Books | Advanced Search My Library Account ILL - Interlibrary Loan | 

     Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Advanced Search | DOI Tools

If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic

View Databases by Subject OR All Databases  

 
 
 

 Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:

Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!

If you see an embargo and a date within a NSUWorks record: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions, author requests, or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

 Find Select Scholarly Articles via Google Scholar: