Skip to main content

Find Homework (K-12) Resources: Library Databases

What is a Library Database?

library database is a collection of information (articles, ebooks, etc.) published electronically. Although you use a computer to search within databases, they are not the same as websites! YouTube and Google, for example, are not databases.

Databases can include a variety of subjects or focus on a specific area, like science or history.

Look at the picture of a database below. Does the information look real? What topics do you see?

Gale in Context Elementary screenshot

Keywords

Search for articles using keywords that describe your topic. Watch this video demonstrating how to get your keywords.

Boolean Operators

Watch this video demonstrating how to limit or expand your search! Combine your keywords using Boolean operators AND, OR, or NOT

Learn How to Use These Databases!

Gale in Context: Elementary poster

Gale in Context: Elementary

Monkeys and molecules and music, oh my! Gale In Context: Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits) lets you explore all kinds of educational, cool stuff from a home computer. Better yet, each topic comes with articles, videos, colorful pictures, and more.

World Book Kids poster

World Book Kids

Access thousands of easy-to-read articles with visually stunning features and read aloud capabilities.

World Book Student poster

World Book Student

Find more than 40,000 encyclopedia and reference articles, as well as the World Book Biography Center, with more than 10,000 biographies!

Elementary Databases

Need Help Using the Library?

For general library questions, call (954) 262-5477 or email plsrefdesk@nova.edu   |   For research help, make an appointment with a librarian!