In the real world, International corporations deal with the competitive challenges and opportunities created by conducting business globally
Language in International Business by Mary Yoko Brannen (Editor); Terry Mughan (Editor)Tracing the treatment of language in international business as represented in the Journal of International Business Studies, this seminal collection critically explores the conceptualizations of language that have been adopted or ignored by international business scholars over the years and showcases nine articles that have played an important role in establishing and advancing the field. In today's increasingly globalized context of business, significantly richer theories from interdisciplinary perspectives are needed to explain the complexity of the interplay between multiple facets of language and how they affect day-to-day operations. With insights from linguistics, psychology and organizational theory, Language in International Business provides an assessment of scholarly efforts to uncover the profound impact that language has on global business today and proposes some important ways in which this nascent field of language in international business may be further advanced. Chapter 9 is licensed under a Creative Commons Attributtion NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License. The Journal of International Business Studies (JIBS) is an official publication of the Academy of International Business and is the top-ranked journal in the field of international business. The goal of JIBS is to publish insightful, innovative and impactful research on international business. JIBS is multidisciplinary in scope and interdisciplinary in content and methodology. For more information, visit www.jibs.net. The Academy of International Business (AIB) is the leading association of scholars and specialists in the field of international business. A global community of scholars and researchers for the creation and dissemination of knowledge about international business and policy issues, the AIB transcends the boundaries of single academic disciplines and managerial functions to enhance business education and practice. For more information, visit aib.msu.edu
Publication Date: 2016-11-20
The Development of International Business by Robert PearceThe Development of International Business offers an extensive understanding of contemporary international business through detailed, engaging discussion of the development of the multinational enterprise (MNE) over the past half-century.By providing an analytically informed basis for understanding MNEs, two parallel strands of analysis in International Business (IB) are reviewed: the 'theoretical' and the 'practical'. Firstly, Robert Pearce identifies how the practical restructuring of the MNE as an organisational form has responded to changes in the wider global economy and how this evolution has interacted with the enrichment of theory on the topic. Secondly, by tracing the persisting dynamics of the MNE's structure and strategic positioning, he demonstrates the use of these systems and how they can help to understand and organise the future evolution of not only MNEs but of international business as a whole.Highly accessible with an informed overview of the entire IB subject area, The Development of International Business is an essential text for students and academics of business, management, economics and development. More generally, business leaders, economists and politicians will value the exceptional insight into the progression of international business and its future.
Globalization and the Ethical Responsibilities of Multinational Corporations: Emerging Research and Opportunities by Tarnue JohnsonLarge corporations operating on an international scale require honest business practices. It is imperative for corporations to conduct activities in an ethical manner, while also attaining effective economic growth. Globalization and the Ethical Responsibilities of Multinational Corporations: Emerging Research and Opportunities is a scholarly reference source including the latest findings on the connection between international influence and integrity among corporations. Featuring extensive coverage on a broad range of topics and perspectives such as corporate governance, stakeholder theory, and foreign direct investment (FDI), this publication is ideally designed for researchers, professionals, and academicians seeking current research on how global and transnational firms have affected economic progression all over the world.
Publication Date: 2017-03-21
The 30 Day MBA in International Business by Colin BarrowAs business becomes increasingly reliant on succeeding in export markets, the need for specialist knowledge in international trade is at its highest. With thorough explanations to describe the current international business environment as well as international case studies which include IKEA, Shell, Innocent Drinks, Ford, Match.com and Ryanair, The 30 Day MBA in International Business will boost your knowledge and help you play a more rounded role in shaping the direction of your organization. The 30 Day MBA in International Business covers all the essential elements of international trade and business, including international marketing strategy, managing international organizations and selecting global strategic partners as well as finance, accounting and human resource management. The 30 Day MBA in International Business is packed with links to free resources from the top business schools as well as an online list of sources to keep you informed on all the key business issues. Online supporting resources for this book include a bonus chapter on business communication, self-test question and answers and appendices.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Complete is the nation's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic full-text reference and current events database. Available through the ProQuest Web interface, CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere. With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,665 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.
Full-text publications of the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development, including country studies, reports, ebooks, periodicals, working papers, and statistics databases. They cover economics, business, and social issues in the 30 member countries and 70 other countries. Formerly SourceOECD.
World Bank provides data sets via DataBank which is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. Includes World Development Indicators and Education Statistics and more.