Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for NSU Alumni

This guide provides information about how NSU Alumni can obtain an NSU library card and access online library resources, like databases, after they have graduated.

Congratulations on your graduation from NSU and welcome back! Please use this guide to identify and access available online library resources after you graduate. Scroll down to learn more about your database access based on your alumni type (distance vs. local) and database type (on-site vs. remote).

Distance Alumni

 NSU alumni living outside of Broward County can register to receive access to library databases.

  1. Update Your Record Form on the NSU Alumni Association's website.
  2. Update your personal information.
  3. Check the box for "Have access to select research databases offered by the Alvin Sherman Library."
  4. Provide your NSU ID Number.
  5. Click the "Submit" button when finished.                         

*Please allow one month for your account to be activated to log-in to use library databases.

The NSU Alumni Association office sends validated alumni requests to the library monthly. Requests are uploaded into the library system on the 15th of each month. You will receive a notification from the NSU Alumni Association to the email you provided on your form when your account is accessible. Library databases can then be accessed by logging into the appropriate box when prompted.

*Please note that due to vendor contract limitations, NSU Libraries are unable to give alumni and current NSU students the same level of access to electronic resources.

Are you in town visiting the Alvin Sherman Library?

Visit the Circulation Desk located on the first floor and present your NSU Alumni Association membership card. Membership cards are automatically mailed out after graduation with your diploma.

 

If you do not have a membership card, please contact the NSU Alumni Association directly at (954) 262-2118 or email at alumni@nova.eduYou may also visit the NSU Alumni Association's website at: http://www.nova.edu/alumni/

Local Alumni

NSU alumni who live, work or attend school in Broward County can apply for a new Alvin Sherman Library card. You will then be considered a Broward County user.

Apply Online: Visit the Library Card Application webpage. Look under the section NSU Alumni and click the link to register. Fill in all required information and then visit the Circulation Desk  located on the first floor with your identification to pick up your library card.

Apply In-Person: Visit the Alvin Sherman Library's Circulation Desk located on the first floor. Proof of Broward County affiliation is required. Click here for a list of acceptable forms of identification for Broward County patrons.

Access to databases will vary depending on if you are on-site in the library or off-site using another computer.

Database Access Explained

Library users may have access to different databases depending on their user type and location. To determine what database you may access remotely, look for your user type listed next to the home icon:

  • icon of a building = Users listed next to this icon have access on campus. (This will often say ALL indicating all users have access on campus. There are a few exceptions.) 
  • icon of a house = Users listed next to this icon have access off campus.
Remote Access Database Example
Current NSU students & NSU alumni
Current NSU students & Broward County users 
Current NSU students only