Skip to main content

MSMS 6211, BCOR 5585 Genomics: Getting Started

Genomics

Genomics
MSMS 6211, BCOR 5585
Winter 2020

The primary goal of this course is to introduce and describe the latest advances in molecular biology, genomics, computational biotechnology, and their interrelationships to all biology and human society through classroom and computer exercises. We will review milestone discoveries, which led to the rise of genomics science, characteristics of the wide spectrum of different genomes (prokaryotic, eukaryotic and organellar), and innovative molecular techniques and tools (e.g. high throughput DNA sequencing, CRISPRs) used to study and manipulate genomes. We will study genomes including their architecture in different organisms and the gene products that underlie development and basic metabolism. Genomics will also be viewed in the context of “Big Data” sets, and its integration with computational methods. The impact of genomics on human health (personalized medicine, diagnostics and new treatments to cure genetic diseases), ecology, ethical issues and problems will be discussed in depth.

Recommended Textbooks:

At the conclusion of this course the student will be able to:

  1. Demonstrate proficient library and computer skills in data gathering and analysis.
  2. Analyze macromolecular sequences in the context of specific biological questions.
  3.  Navigate and apply diverse, modern genetic databases and software to specific questions.
  4. Apply current bioinformatics and genomics methods to current organismal systems and problems.
  5.  Prepare oral and written reports in an acceptable standard scientific format.
  6. Understand some of the larger questions and issues within genomics and large scale data collection and analysis.
  7. Learn to work and cooperate as part of an interdisciplinary team.

Your First Stop in Oceanography Research

Dive In Research Oceanography

Quick Search

Find Books, Journals, Media:


E-Books | Advanced Search My Library Account ILL - Interlibrary Loan | 

     Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Advanced Search | DOI Tools

If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic

View Databases by Subject OR All Databases  

 
 
 

 Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:

Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!

If you see an embargo and a date within a NSUWorks record: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions, author requests, or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

 Find Select Scholarly Articles via Google Scholar: