Skip to main content

PHIL 3360 Environmental Ethics: Getting Started

Environmental Ethics

Environmental Ethics
PHIL 3360
Winter 2020

This course provides an introduction to moral reasoning through the philosophical examination of major problems in environmental ethics, such as the relationship between human beings and living and non-living environments, controlling nature, and land use, assessing risk, responsibility to future generations, and the role of science, among others. Students will be introduced to the idea that ethical problems are largely a matter of reason; that progress toward solutions can be gained through an application of normative ethical (philosophical) theory.

Required Textbooks:

  1. Identify when the moral assessment of a situation is called by recognizing ethical issues specific to the context of the environment (i.e., can distinguish claims of fact from claims of value in environmental contexts).
  2. Apply abstract concepts (normative ethical theories and principles) consistently and coherently to real-life situations
  3. Evaluate reasons used to support moral decisions
  4. Explain how one's behavior has an impact on others
  5. Demonstrate tolerance for disagreement by taking account of and respecting points of view other than their own

Your First Stop in Oceanography Research

Dive In Research Oceanography

Quick Search

Find Books, Journals, Media:


E-Books | Advanced Search My Library Account ILL - Interlibrary Loan | 

     Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Advanced Search | DOI Tools

If you see an embargo next to a e-journal title: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

Search Full Text Finder to find the full text of a publication.

Databases: search for articles, datasets, and videos on your topic

View Databases by Subject OR All Databases  

 
 
 

 Search NSUWorks - NSU's Institutional Repository:

Browse or search scholarship in Digital Commons @ NSUWorks!

If you see an embargo and a date within a NSUWorks record: An embargo period is a period of time which an official academic publication is not yet available online, either due to publishing restrictions, author requests, or subscription contracts.  Ex: "Embargo: 1 Year" = access begins one year ago from today's date.

 Find Select Scholarly Articles via Google Scholar: