Getting things done is easy to say, but the process of governance is exceedingly complex. Running the engine of government and related organizations requires the fuel of human ingenuity.
Preventing Fraud and Mismanagement in Government by Joseph R. Petrucelli; Jonathan R. PetersDig to the root of public fraud with deep exploration of theory, standards, and norms Preventing Fraud and Mismanagement in Government identifies common themes in public fraud and corruption, describes the forces that drive them, and provides an objective standard of good practices with no political bent. From Bridgegate to Iran-Contra, this book walks through the massive scandals that resulted from public mismanagement and fraud to illustrate how deeply-entrenched, entity-specific norms can differ from actual best practices. The discussion includes the theoretical underpinnings of public fraud, and how intense corporate culture and limited exposure to outside practice standards can lead to routine deviation from normal behavior and moral standards. You'll find a compendium of practices that illustrate actual norms, allowing you to compare your own agency's culture and operations to standard practice, and contrast the motivations for fraud in the public and private sectors. Public agencies and governmental entities are generally driven by a pubic benefit or goal, but are widely varied in the ability and desire to deliver value while retaining best practices. This book explicitly explores the common patterns of agency practices and cultural norms, and describes how they can easily cross over into illegal acts. Understand why fraud exists in the public sector Discover how your agency's mindset diverges from the norm Review cases where agency practices diverged from best financial practices Learn good practices in an objective, nonpolitical context The government/public sector provides some of the most basic services that are critical to a functioning society. Lacking a profit motive, these agencies nonetheless show a pattern of fraud and borderline behavior that could be mitigated with the adoption of standards and best practices. Preventing Fraud and Mismanagement in Government shares a canon of knowledge related to public operations and fraud, providing deep insight into the causes, solutions, and prevention.
Innovative Perspectives on Public Administration in the Digital Age by Aroon P. Manoharan (Editor); James McQuiston (Editor)As governments worldwide are entering the digital age, there are increasing expectations from citizens and stakeholders for a more responsive, efficient, and open government. Innovations in information technology and web technologies can facilitate these changes. Innovative Perspectives on Public Administration in the Digital Age is a critical scholarly resource that examines the prevalence of e-government and the advancements of information systems to facilitate a government that is more open and accessible to citizens and businesses. Highlighting coverage on a broad range of topics such as online civic engagement, e-petition, and privacy and security, this publication is geared toward academicians, practitioners, and government officials seeking current and relevant research on the use of online and technological systems for the advancement of government and public policy.
Publication Date: 2018-05-25
The Next Public Administration by B. Guy Peters; Jon PierreWritten by two of the leading scholars in the field, this book explores public administration in the past, present and future, critically reviewing the modernization of public management reform. It reasserts public administration as an integral component of democratic governance and fostering a state-citizen relationship. Wide-ranging in scope, The Next Public Administration: Extends basic public administration to consider issues associated with management, governance and democracy Covers core public administration concepts and their evolution through time Draws on an international spread of examples, bringing theoretical discussions to life Includes lists of further reading Essential reading for students of public management and public administration.
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Administration and Management in Criminal Justice by Jennifer M. Allen; Rajeev SawhneyRethink management in criminal justice.Administration and Management in Criminal Justice: A Service Quality Approach, Third Editionemphasizes the proactive techniques for administration professionals by using a service quality lens to address administration and management concepts in all areas of the criminal justice system. Authors Jennifer M. Allen and Rajeev Sawhney encourage you to consider the importance of providing high-quality and effective criminal justice services. You will develop skills for responding to your customers--other criminal justice professionals, offenders, victims, and the community--and learn how to respond to changing environmental factors. You will also learn to critique your own views of what constitutes management in this service sector, all with the goal of improving the effectiveness of the criminal justice system.New to the Third Edition: Examinations of current concerns and management trends in criminal justice agenciesmake you aware of the types of issues you may face, such as workplace bullying, formal and informal leadership, inmate-staff relationships, fatal police shootings, and more. Increased discussions of a variety of important topicsspark classroom debate around areas such as homeland security-era policing, procedural justice, key court personnel, and private security changes. Expanded coverage of technology in criminal justicehelps you see how technology such as cybercrime, electronic monitoring and other uses of technology in probation and parole, body-worn cameras, and police drones have had an impact on the discipline. Updated Career Highlight boxes demonstrate the latest data for each career presented. More than half the book has been updated with new case studies to offer you current examples of theory being put into practice. Nine newIn the Newsarticlesinclude topics such as Recent terrorist attacks Police shootings Funding for criminal justice agencies New technology, such as police drones and the use of GPS monitoring devices on sex offenders Cybercrime, cyberattacks, and identity theft Updated references, statistics, and data present you with the latest trends in criminal justice.
Publication Date: 2018-02-14
The Public Policy Primer by Xun Wu; M. Ramesh; Michael Howlett; Scott A. FritzenFully revised for a second edition, this essential guide provides a concise and accessible overview of the public policy process: agenda-setting, policy formulation, decision-making, implementation, and evaluation. The book provides an introduction to the key policy functions, the challenges they entail, and how the challenges may be addressed by policy actors. Written from a comparative perspective, the authors include examples from a diverse range of countries at different stages of development, highlighting key principles and practices through which policy actors can effectively manage their policy processes and outcomes. Key features of the second edition: fully updated and revised content throughout; expanded references and further reading; more guidance towards understanding the key concepts in public policy. This important tool offers students of public policy and policy practitioners guidance on how to make, implement, and evaluate public policies in ways that improve citizens' lives.
Publication Date: 2017-09-11
Proliferation of Open Government Initiatives and Systems by Ayse Kok (Editor)As is true in most aspects of daily life, the expansion of government in the modern era has included a move to a technologically-based system. A method of evaluation for such online governing systems is necessary for effective political management worldwide. Proliferation of Open Government Initiatives and Systems is an essential scholarly publication that analyzes open government data initiatives to evaluate the impact and value of such structures. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics including collaborative governance, civic responsibility, and public financial management, this publication is geared toward academicians and researchers seeking current, relevant research on the evaluation of open government data initiatives.
Publication Date: 2018-01-05
Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations by John M. BrysonThe essential planning resource and framework for nonprofit leaders Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations is the comprehensive, practical guide to building and sustaining a more effective organization. Solid strategy is now more important than ever, and this book provides a clear framework for designing and implementing an effective and efficient planning process. From identifying stakeholders and clarifying a shared vision, to implementing plans and revising strategies, the discussion covers all aspects of the process to help you keep your organization united and on track into the future. The field's leading authority shares insight, advice, helpful tools, and specific techniques, alongside a widely used and well-regarded approach to real-world planning. This new fifth edition includes new case studies and examples along with up-to-date resources and references, and new multimedia-related content. Innovation and creativity produce great ideas, but these ideas must be collected and organized into an actionable plan supported by a coalition of support to make your organization great. This book provides expert guidance and perspective to help you bring everything together into a workable organizational strategy. Discover an effective approach to the strategic planning process Identify issues, establish a vision, clarify mandates, and implement plans Manage the process with continual learning and revising Link unique assets and abilities to better accomplish the central mission Public and nonprofit leaders are forever striving to do more with less, and great strategic planning can help you build efficiency and effectiveness into your organization's everyday operations. Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations provides the framework and tools you need to start planning for tomorrow today.
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video is a landmark collection that illustrates the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety. From law enforcement and corrections personnel, to first responders and victims’ advocates, this compilation of documentaries, training videos, and interviews visually depicts the theoretical principles and practical application of criminal justice and emergency response.